Bring on the New Year!! Another year, another batch of fantastic new beauty products! Coming this  new year I am going to be posted monthly blogs called “Hot New Shit”; the posts will be all of my new favorite products of the month. Seeing as 2016 is coming to an end, like tomorrow… I though I would share with you a few of my absolutely favorite products of 2016.

Everything is linked below, so you can easily click and purchase. My personal favorite place to shop for makeup, if I’m not online, is Walmart. They always seem to have the best prices and are usually willing to price match if you find the item cheaper elsewhere. YAY for affordability! So, let’s get to it….

Skin Care:

Skin care has become a close friend of mine. This past year I have really gotten into watching beauty gurus on YouTube and I have learned a lot from them. After listening to all they had to say, I started to realize that no matter how much makeup I used It would never look how I wanted it to (flawless!) if I didn’t take care of my skin underneath. So I beefed up my skin care game with the following products…

Freeman’s Feeling Beautiful Charcoal Black Sugar Polishing Mask – This product is marketed as a face mask, however, I use it as a scrub to exfoliate my skin. Being from Canada with our dry AF climate, I am always noticing patches of dry skin on my face. These patches cause my makeup to look cakey and cracked. They must go! This product detoxes skin; and the naturally purifying activated charcoal helps absorb oil and impurities without over-drying. The black sugar helps exfoliate away dulling skin cells for softness and clarity – AND… its suitable for all skin types! My favorite thing about this scrub has got to be the glorious smell – it’s just lovely.  This 175 mL bottle retails for $5 (CAD) at Walmart.

Freeman’s Feeling Beautiful Face Masks – I use face masks 3-4 times a week. I never used to really use them accept at the odd Girls Night. When I came to the above realization about my skin, I started using them more often. I went to Walmart and picked up 2-3 bottles of Freeman’s Feeling Beautiful products and rotated my use of them throughout the week. Personally, I used the Avocado & Oatmeal Clay Mask, and the Golden Grain Brightening Mask, but I recommend picking up a few bottles that work with your skin type, and the issues that you are trying to correct. I love this line because it is super affordable for the amount of product you get (175 mL for $5 (CAD)) and they have a huge variety to choose from. I bought 3 bottles and they have lasted me all of 2016!

Pond’s Cold Cream – This cream is a classic! My grandmother used it, and my mother used it, and now I use it. This is a dual purpose product; it works amazing to remove even the most stubborn of makeup (including waterproof), and it is extremely deep moisturizing. Scoop out a quarter size dollop and rub it all over your face to loosen up any makeup (or just use to cleanse the skin) and then wipe off with a warm wash cloth – voila! Makeup is gone! I usually remove my makeup with wipes before I exfoliate and so I use Pond’s Cold Cream as a deep moisturizer, using the same technique.  I absolutely love setting the warm-hot washcloth on my face after massaging the cream into my face. It feels like a mini facial, and the heat steams the pores open to remove dirt, grime, and impurities. This product retails for $7 (CAD) at Walmart for a 190 mL jar. Oh ya, and it smells amazing!! If you are very sensitive to smells, be warned that Pond’s products are quite heavily perfumed. They smell like your grandma’s perfume.

Pond’s Dry Skin Cream – This extra rich hydrating cream has been a long time favorite of mine; since I was in Junior High; it has never failed me! I don’t recommend this as a day cream underneath your makeup (unless you use a very small quantity) as it does have a greasy texture, however, at night-time I put loads of it on. I find that overnight the cream sinks into your skin and does its job, leaving you to wake with rich hydrated and moisturized skin. It also has the classic Pond’s smell, quite perfumed. It does not cause me to breakout and is safe to use during a breakout. This product also retails for $7 (CAD) at Walmart for a 190 mL jar.

Pond’s Vitamin E, Chamomile & Green Tea Cleansing & Makeup Removing Towelettes – I know this is starting to seem like a Pond’s advertisement, but it’s not. I’m just a big fan of their products because they never steer me wrong. Before I talk any  more about this product I’m just going to state that every now and then Walmart sells this product in a 2 pack for the same price at 1 package sells for; that is the only time I purchase these wipes, and I usually stock up on them at that point. They retail for (surprise, surprise…) $7 (CAD) at Walmart. They are gentle on my skin, moist enough that I don’t have to tug at my skin to remove any stubborn products, and smell great! At their low price I don’t feel bad about having to use a couple wipes per day to remove my full face makeup. They also offer another type of Pond’s wipe that is exfoliating but I am not a very big fan of those ones. My next favorite would be the Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes, they are bomb; about $10 (CAD) at your local drugstore.

Lashes:

100% Pure or Cold Pressed Castor Oil – Here is a little trick I learned this year to help your lashes grow longer, thicker, and darker. At bedtime after cleansing  your face, take either a spoolie or a fine liner brush and apply a small amount of Castor Oil to your top and bottom lash line. Be patient, it does take a few months of following this routine daily to start seeing results. Totally worth the wait (I will update you guys on my progress when I can get some good photos). You can pick this stuff up online, or at most drugstores. I purchased mine at the Asian Supermarket in town, but for the purpose of this article, I have linked this article to Amazon.ca for the best deal.

Kiss EZ Lash Multi-pack #11 – If your into false eyelashes and you already follow me than you know these are my RIDE OR DIE lashes, for every year! I pick a package up every time I go to Walmart ($14 CAD not sold online). They are super flirty, whispie and light; the most affordable ones I have found, and can be worn for an everyday look. If you are new to false eyelash application than these would be a great place to start as they are super easy to work with as well.

it Cosmetics Superhero Mascara – I received this product in my ipsy bag a few months back and I am completely obsessed. The wad is just perfect for getting tight up to your lash line and for grabbing those itty bitty bottom lashes. It’s claim to fame is that it is clinically proven to give your lashes super volume, super length and a super elastic stretch – and that it does!! I am not yet sure where you can purchase this in Canada and they do not ship internationally at this time. If your making a trip to the US, or find a way to get your hands on this baby, STOCK UP!! Buy ten! One for you, your mom, your dog.

Face:

L’Oreal Paris Infallible Pro-Glow Foundation – This is my new favorite foundation! It is super hydrating for my dry skin, has a beautiful radiant, dewy finish, with a lasting glow. It wears all day long and never looks dull, or greasy. I am a big, big fan! The only downside to this product is that it is on the pricier side ($17-$20 CAD) for a drug store foundation; and so I give you my original favorite foundation….

CoverGirl Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation – An oil free foundation, yet still hydrating. Leaves you with a fresh looking complexion, and a flawless, natural look that lasts all day long. This formula blends easily and can be built up creating an even skin tone. I personally love this product because it is suitable for my sensitive skin, doesn’t clog pores, and because it’s oil free it keeps away any and all shine and keeps my skin looking matte. Retails for $8 CAD at Walmart; much for affordable!

Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer – I have dedicated an entire post to this, GO NOW AND READ, and then go buy it. You must! Enough said…

Kat Von D Lock-it Translucent Setting Powder – I wish I could find a drug store setting powder that actually worked for me, but I just can’t. I have purchased quite a few, and none of them seem to come through for me. All the products I found at Sephora were so expensive, I had buyers remorse just looking at them. Then one day Kat Von D decided to create a makeup line :)…. an affordable one. For just $38 (CAD) at Sephora you get a 0.67 oz. jar of translucent setting powder (it’s lasted me almost the entire year).  This powder keeps my makeup in place all day, it has no color – suitable for all skin tones. I can use it to bake my under eye area and it does not leave creasing or product buildup. Get it girls!

Essence Pure Nude Highlighters – Can we take a moment to thank Essence for making such quality and affordable products. I am a huge fan of ALL their products. Their lip glosses smell amazing, and their brow gel is everything! This highlighter is $5 (CAD) at Shoppers Drug Mart. I couldn’t find a link to SDM so I just linked it to a photo of the product on their website. For the purpose of this article I am speaking specifically about shade 10 ‘Be My Highlight’ – this highlighter gives me life!!!! This ultra smooth baked highlighter gives the face fresh and luminous accents. It had a slight shimmer, and doesn’t leave big chunks of glitter on your face like some products do.

Eye Shadows:

Morphe Brushes Pro Palettes – I got my first few Morphe eye shadow palettes this year and I was completely blown away! The pigmentation is UNREAL, with very little fallout!! They are highly blendable and buildable. You get 35 pans of either shimmer or matte shades, or a combination of both. I can 100% guarantee you that you will not regret purchasing these!! They have quite a large variety of gorgeous shades and palette options. They retail for approx $50 (CAD) per palette, and guess what……Showcase (the “as seen on TV” store) in our local mall is now selling their products. YAHHHHOOOOOO!! No waiting for shipping.

If you’re looking for a more affordable eye shadows that you can pick up at your local drug store; check out some of my earlier beauty posts.

Health:

Kirkland Signatures Prenatal Multivitamin – No, not just for prego ladies. Prenatal vitamins are good for women all the time, not just during pregnancy (information courtesy of my MD). They have a more concentrated amount of vitamins and minerals than regular multivitamins. Did you know that your body only takes in about 20% of the supplements you put into it, so why not dose up? These little babies are filled with Vitamins A, E, C, B1, B2, B6, B12, D, Beta-Carotene, Biotin, Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, and so much more. They retail for $17 (CAD) for 300 tabs at Costco. That will last you almost the whole year….. yes please!

That’s a wrap folks!

I hope you enjoyed this post and find that you end up loving these product as much as I do! Please let me know your experience with these products and share with me your favorites  so I can try them out. Happy New Year, and ALL the best it this upcoming year! ❤

Chat soon xo
Nik

